Thessaloniki

I’ve been to Thessaloniki three or four times already for work. This time, I had to go pick up some documents from the social security branch of my employer. I was determined to finally have a proper look at the city and I almost made it. I am now convinced that Thessaloniki looks a lot like Izmir, which made the trip kind of nostalgic. Highlights included:

  • Seeing my co-workers again
  • Buying a shirt (yeah it’s been that long since I last went shopping for something other than food)
  • Getting lost on the way to the Biennale site and ending up wandering around the empty HELEXPO area
  • Open air cinema (once again, it’s been ages)
  • Beer tasting with my hostel roomies
  • Getting drenched by sudden rainfall
  • Ordering a souvlaki as an undercover Athenian
Leave a Reply

